(1975 – 1990)

Meaning Bandname: A poem by Charles Dickens came up with by Tim Mullens.

Bio: From Hazerswoude. At the end of 1975 Tim Mullens, Eduard van Bockel and Ernst-Jan Kamphuis form the band in Het Keldertje aka K-74 which is some sort of clubhouse (a rebuilt garagebox) behind the house of Eduard van Bockel’s parents. Tim already have some own songs and they also do some covers by Rolling Stones and Pretty Things.
In 1976 they do their first concert on the yearly market of Hazerswoude with two own songs and a cover. When in 1977 punk becomes popular they fit right in with their trashy rock ‘n’roll. They already play punk without knowing it was punk. After hearing the first Ramones LP, they start to play faster and record a two-track demo which takes them to the major WEA recordlabel that sets up the new Pogo Records especially for punk.
Ernst-Jan is replaced by Simon Francken but stays manager. The recordings for the LP start one day after their first gig in the Paradiso venue on 4 January 1978. In two days they record the record and it sells too little for the label (2500) and they get dropped.
They record for the Uitholling Overdwars LP but Eduard leaves the band and gets replaced by Kees Bontebal. Arther also leaves but returns after a month. In this period they just do a few concerts. Kees gets replaced by Bart de Boer at the end of 1980. Musically there’s alot of influences from the sixties but the attitude is still punk. They record the songs for the Garageland EP that will be released three years later.
The sound changes more to soul in 1982 when they get a trumpet and saxophone and they set up their own No Bluff Records label. The cooperation on the compilation Stirred But Not Shaken brings them abroad.
After 10 years they release the double LP Whatever They Hype. One LP is a re-release of the first record and the second LP has remixed singletracks and a new song. The band does a last concert in the Melkweg, Amsterdam in December 1990 because of personal problems of singer Tim Mullens. The rest continues as Farmer John.

Description: Punk

Tim Mullens – guitar &vocals
Arther Van Dijke – drums (1975-1990)
Simon Francken – bass (1977-1990)
Bart De Boer – guitar (1980-1990)
Martijn Loos aka Dr. Loos – saxophone, synthesizer, keyboard (1990-1990)

Ernst-Jan Kamphuis – bass (1975-1977), trumpet (1985-1989), synthesizer & keyboard (1989-1990)
A.J. Bosz – trumpet (1982-1985)
Sjaak Matze – saxophone (1982-1985)
Kees Bontebal – guitar (1980-1980)
Evert-Jan Rietbergen aka Jip van Bentum – saxophone (1985-1989)
Eduard van Bockel – guitar (1975-1980)

Other bands:
Ernst-Jan Kamphuis – Lieutenant Ernesto & The Strolling Bones

1978 – Ivy Green LP (Pogo Records Ltd, NL)
Recorded @ Soundpush Studios, Blaricum 05-06.01.1978 by Richard de Bois
1978 – Wap Shoo Wap (I’m Sure We’re Gonna Make It) single-sided 7” single (Pogo Records Ltd, NL)
1983 – The Damage 7” single (No Bluff Records, NL)
Recorded @ The Stable Studio, Arnhem by Mr. Toering
1984 – The Garageland EP 7” EP (No Bluff Records, NL)
Recorded @ The Stable Studio, Arnhem
1984 – Dreaming Of You 7” single (No Bluff Records, NL)
1984 – The Quest LP (No Bluff Records, NL)
Recorded @ Palais des Fou & Oktopus 06 & 07.1984
1985 – Good Things Happen 7” single (Circo Re, NL)
Recorded @ The Stable Studio, Arnhem
1985 – The Turning Point 7” single with Tröckener Kecks (Tröckener Kecks, NL / No Bluff Records, NL)
1985 – All On The Beat LP (Circo Re, NL)
Recorded @ The Stable Studio, Arnhem summer 1985
1986 – Whatever They Hype… 2x LP (Ciro Re, NL)
1987 – Moon Raised LP (Megadisc, NL)
Recorded @ The Stable Studio, Arnhem early 1987
1990 – Real Slow Burn CD (VAN Record Company, NL)
Recorded @ Studio Orkater, Amsterdam by Marc de Reus
1990 – Into The Deep 7” single (VAN Record Company, NL)
1990 – Ivy Green CD (VAN Record Company, NL)
2011 – Ivy Green LP (1977 Records, JAP)
2011 – Ivy Green CD (1977 Records, JAP)
2011 – The Quest CD (1977 Records, JAP)
2011 – All On The Beat LP (1977 Records, JAP)
2011 – Moon Raised LP (1977 Records, JAP)
2016 – Ivy Green LP (Pseudonym, NL)
2016 – Ivy Green CD (Pseudonym, NL)

1979 – Uitholling Overdwars LP (Stichting Popmuziek Nederland, NL)
1983 – Stirred Not Shaken LP (Not On Label, NL)
1984 – Bunkerweef ’84 TP (Kazemat Cassettes, NL)
1986 – Remember Soweto 76-86 (Bullets Won’t Stop Us Now) LP (Konkurrel, NL)
1988 – Claw Boys Claw / Garagegroups LP (Radio Nederland Transcription Service, NL)
1988 – The Undutchables (16 Great Bands From The Low-Lands) TP (Stichting Popmuziek Nederland, NL)
1989 – Dutch Rock Alive And Well 1989 2x CD (Radio Nederland, NL)
1991 – Highlights From The Lowlands CD (Conamus, NL)
1991 – Villa 65 (Volume 1 – Nederlandse Bands) CD (Ariola, NL)
1996 – I’m Sure We’re Gonna Make It. Dutch Punkrock ’77 – ’82 CD (Epitaph, Europe)
1996 – Punkrock From Holland: A Compilation Of Original Early Dutch Punk LP (Not On Label, NL)
1997 – Feel Lucky Skunk?! LP (Look Back In Anger, GER)
1997 – Moving On! CD (Nationaal Pop Instituut, NL)
2003 – 100% Pure Dutch Punk Hardcore CD (Not On Label, NL)
2008 – 50 Jaar Nederpop (Rare & Obscure) 4x CD (Not On Label, NL)
2008 – Doe Het Zelf CDr (Olé Records, GER / O Tannenbaum, GER)
2011 – Distractions II TP (Not On Label, UK)
2012 – Tjerk Lammers Presenteert Dijkdoorbraak 4x CD (Universal Music, NL)
2016 – I Don’t Care Volume 2 – Dutch Punk 1977 – 1983 2xLP (Pseudonym, NL)
2016 – I Don’t Care Collection (Dutch Punk 1977 – 1983) 2xCD (Pseudonym, NL)
2019 – Institute: A Mixed Tape Made By Institute TP (Sacred Bone Records, USA)
XXXX – Bloodstains Across Superpunk Vol. I CDr (Tres Cipotes, SPA)
XXXX – Bloodstains Across Superpunk Vol. II CDr (Tres Cipotes, SPA)

1978 – Punk In Paradiso (Monica Kugel)

1978 – Pin 1
1978 – Pin 2
1978 – Watch Out 1
1978 – Rare Tijden
1985 – Onbegonnen Werk
1986 – Kaboem 4

Concerts: (assorted)
1976.08.26 Jaarmarkt, Hazerswoude

1978.01.04 Paradiso, Amsterdam (+ Speedtwins, Vissenpunk)
1978.02.17 Paradiso, Amsterdam (+ Captain Coke, Whizz Guy)
1978.03.29 Paradiso, Amsterdam (+ Whizz Guy)
1978.04.21 Paradiso, Amsterdam (+ Stukas)
1978.07.29 Paradiso, Amsterdam (+ Vibrators)
1978.08.16 Paradiso, Amsterdam
1978.08.19 Utrecht
1978.11.02 Paradiso, Amsterdam
1978.11.22 Paradiso, Amsterdam (+ Crass, Divorce, The Filth, Milestones, Captain Coke, Los Mismos, Cygnus, Panic, Normaal) (Rock Against Racism Festival)
1978.12.28 Breehuis, Leiden

1979.01.05 Efenaar, Eindhoven (+ Nasmaak)
1979.01.13 Lindehoeve, Voorschoten
1979.01.19 Punkclub NZ Voorburgwal, Amsterdam (+ Motorboat, Infexion, The Bugs, Jezus And The Gospelfuckers, V.D. Patients)
1979.03.10 Paradiso, Amsterdam (+ Headlines)
1979.05.19 Huize Maas, Groningen (+ Pico, F.C. Gerania, Ton van der Meer, White Honey)
1979.06.09 Paradiso, Amsterdam (+ Rondos, The Filth)
1979.11.23 Paradiso, Amsterdam (+ Jezus And The Gospelfuckers, Vopo’s) (Benefit Jezus)
1979.12.18 Paradiso, Amsterdam (+ Zero Zero, Infexion, The Scabs)

1980.03.07 O’16, Voorburg
1980.03.14 LVC, Leiden (+ The Dummies)
1980.10.25 Simplon, Groningen

1981.03.26 Paradiso, Amsterdam (+ A-Butz)
1981.06.25 Paradiso, Amsterdam (+ On-Off, Splendid Mood)
1981.08.06 Paradiso, Amsterdam (+ Epileptics)
1981.10.24 Paradiso, Amsterdam (+ Ramones)

1982.08.05 Paradiso, Amsterdam (+ Wanda’s)

1984.02.11 Paradiso, Amsterdam (+ Tröckener Kecks)
1984.05.05 Shiva, Uithoorn

1985.03.01 Paradiso, Amsterdam (+ Tröckener Kecks)
1985.03.16 ‘t Beest, Goes (+ Miners Of Muzo)

Martijn de Jonge)
(© Erik Verzijl)
(© Erik Verzijl)
Swie Tio)
(© Erik Verzijl)
(© Erik Verzijl)
(© Erik Verzijl)
(© Erik Verzijl)
(© Erik Verzijl)
Martijn de Jonge)
Martijn de Jonge)